Power, Beauty and Soul – by Richard Ince

Cleopatra came straight into my mind. She had power, yes. She had beauty, yes. Did she have a soul though?

What is a soul? When I first heard that word it was probably in a Divinity lesson in school. I think they call it Religious Knowledge these days. So for a long time, I believed that I would one day fly to heaven. I believed in a God until I was about sixteen.

However I still loved the word “soul”. To me it means the real heart of a person. It doesn’t matter what people look like, what job they have, how much money they have, how famous they are.

What I‘m looking for is not exact. I think compassion is part of it. A sense of humour that doesn’t hurt other people is another part. I find it in the Centre often.

Leave a Reply

