Writing inspired by random famous lines of poetry – by John Barber

Here is the deepest secret nobody knows”

I’m a fraud

Nothing is for real

I hide behind a cloak of kindness

I am outwardly their friend

I will do almost anything

I am good old John

He will help me

There’s no one else to ask

There’s always John

He has the time

I hate it all

I am no longer young

I want time to do what I want

Why do they keep asking me?

Take me here, fetch this

Are you free, can you please?

It’s always yes

It should be no

Go away leave me alone

I have my own life

The curl of my lips”

Can give me away

Oh if you don’t want to don’t worry

But there is no one else

I’ll do it

I’ll resent it

That is the deepest secret nobody knows.

Leave a Reply

